Monday, July 18, 2011

Insomnia? Yes, that would be me!

Well, this morning I woke up at 3:30am.  Yes you heard me correctly.  I just could not sleep. I started getting my cherries ready last night to dehydrate but forgot to finish (ADD moment or what?).  Anyhow, so I get up and check them and they are all mostly really gross looking so I threw them out.  They were all bruised and I thought if they look this disgusting before dehydrating I don't even want to know what they would look or taste like after rehydrating them.  I know wasteful, right?

Well, I thought to myself, "Well, I have lemons all over that are ready to really go bad so I will go and dehydrate them."  What was I thinking this early in the morning!  Okay, so at 3:30 in the morning I started slicing up all the lemons I have in baskets all over my counter.  I LOVE lemons.  I love the smell.  I love the look.  I especially love the taste!  So away I go and get out my meat slicer and start slicing.
I think I must have cut about 20 lemons in all!  Yay!  Did I say I love the smell of lemons. So I get going and start putting them in the food dehydrator.
I am enjoying my two new toys don't you think?  Yes, I just got the meat slicer (which comes in handy for slicing up turkey too!) and the deydrator (an Excalibur!) just last month and I am having fun with them both.

I then take out the seeds.
And even throw on the extra ends.....
And now I am ready with a filled dehydrator!  Yay!  Don't forget to wear your gloves when doing this or it will STING!  I set it on 130 degrees for 24 hours.  I will check it after 12 to see how it is progressing but we will see.
Here is what it will look like after it is all done.
Isn't that great!  I will be putting in the oxygen absorbers later today on this batch I finished last week.  I just don't want to open my oxygen packs without having enough jars ready before opening them.  I also did oranges last week too.
I have to get wide mouth jars for them today so I can fit them in the jars without breaking them.  I think they look so pretty just like that.  Tony and Chris tried an orange last night curious why I am doing this.  They tasted it and Tony had a weird look on his face and said it tastes a bit sour?  Well, I think it was just one that he picked up because the one I tasted was like candy!  It was so sweet.  I use the Valencia oranges that we get just down the 126 *the California Orange Groves!!!!*  I love that place!

Now this is what I enjoy with lemons this morning and I will now have them all year round without them rotting on my island:
I am going to start experimenting with that recipes you can make with the dried citrus soon.

Now that I am finished I have a few extra ends.  What do I do with them.  Well, if you know me you know I have to find a good use for them.  Of course, I have a good use for them.  It is called cleaning out my garbage disposal!
Now that I have used all my usable lemons I look at my last peach from my peach tree and think "Breakfast time!"

No comments:

Post a Comment